Architectural Styles

  1. History

    Much of Weston’s charm derives from the diversity of its architectural heritage.

  2. Colonial (1650-1770)

    The center-chimney Colonial style is the first distinctive housing style in New England.

  3. Georgian (1725-1780)

    The term “Georgian” refers to houses built during the reigns of several King Georges in England.

  4. Federal (1780-1830)

    The label “Federal” is applied to houses built after the Revolutionary War during the period of the new republic, a federation of states.

  5. Greek Revival (1830-1860)

    This style was inspired by renewed interest in the classical symbols of Ancient Greece.

  6. Italianate (1850-1885)

    This style was influenced by the architecture of the Italian countryside.

  7. Second Empire or Mansard (1870-1885)

    This style is primarily distinguished by a mansard roof with steeply sloping sides that rise to a flatter deck above.

  8. Queen Anne (1875-1900)

    This is one of the styles commonly called “Victorian” and is known for its decorative use of materials and colors.

  9. Shingle Style (1880-1900)

    The Shingle style developed as an architect-designed rather than builder-designed style first used along the New England coastline and in resort areas.

  10. Tudor (1890-1940)

    Review the characteristics of the Tudor Style of architecture.

  11. Bungalow (1900-1930)

    The word “bungalow” comes from India, where it is used to describe low, single story houses with large verandas.

  12. International Style (1930-1950)

    International is an architect-driven style reflecting the radically new ideas and designs initially popularized in Europe in the 1920s.

  13. Cape Cod (1690-Present)

    This is a native style of architecture, dating back to the colonial period in New England.

  14. Colonial Revival (1880-Present)

    This style, popular after the U.S. Centennial of 1876, looks back to Colonial and Federal architecture for its inspiration.